in , ,

Hear Lil Peep and iLoveMakonnen’s new track ‘November’

Photo: Courtesy of the publicist; Richard Stilwell

Yesterday, Lil Peep’s estate and iLoveMakonnen announced the “last cohesive previously unreleased full body of work from Lil Peep.”

In a statement, Lil Peep’s mother Liza Womack shared “Lil Peep and Makonnen completed the first fifteen of what would be twenty-one songs and would later be known as the album ‘Diamonds’ in Los Angeles, exactly 6 years ago in August of 2017. Gus was absolutely thrilled about working with Makonnen. When he came home in August, he played those songs for us—over and over. Gus was incredibly proud of those songs.

While Gus was glad to be home for his grandpa’s birthday, he could not wait to get back to making music with Makonnen. He knew there was more music to make, and he knew he had limited time due to his upcoming fall ‘COWYS’ tour, so he organized his next chunk of studio time so he could meet Makonnen in London, where they made the last batch of songs.

Photo: Courtesy of the publicist; Richard Stilwell

We all waited with anticipation for the release of this album. Then Gus passed away. I knew I had to do everything I could to help get this album released—and released the way Gus and Makonnen had made it.


I am very grateful to Makonnen not only for his patience, grace, and fortitude, but also for the tenderness with which he re-assembled the original ‘Diamonds Team’ to gently prepare the album for its release. He did an amazing job—they all did. Gus would be so proud to know that this album had come out. He would be grateful to his friends for taking the time and care to do it just right.”

Photo: Courtesy of the publicist

Raised in Long Beach, New York, Lil Peep launched his career through the self-release of his music online as a teenager. He garnered attention in 2015 following the success of a slew of singles and his first solo mixtapes, ‘Lil Peep; ‘Part One’ and ‘Live Forever’. Over the course of two years, Peep amassed millions of fans, who connected with him through his gritty lyrics that explored themes of love, loss and loneliness. Branded “the future of emo” by Pitchfork in January 2017, Peep’s genre-bending style contributed to his reputation as a pioneer of the late 2010s Post-Emo revival, dishing out a handful of full-lengths and several extended-plays all before the release of his debut album ‘Come Over When You’re Sober, Pt 1’ in 2017. After his breakthrough 2016 mixtapes ‘Crybaby’ and ‘Hellboy’ made waves in underground circles, Peep toured the United States and Europe, walked the runways at Fashion Week and began collaborating with increasingly prominent artists between New York, Los Angeles and London throughout 2017. At the time of his death just two weeks after his twenty-first birthday, Peep had achieved status as one of the scene’s most promising rising stars. Since his emergence in 2015, he has racked up five billion views on YouTube and over twenty billion streams across all platforms.


iLoveMakonnen, born Makonnen Kamali Sheran, grew up in Los Angeles and later Atlanta. He explored various music genres in his teens, recording songs on MySpace and interviewing artists for his blog. His breakthrough came when Miley Cyrus promoted his EP iLoveMakonnen on Instagram, catching Drake’s attention. He gained an online following for his unique mic style before Drake transformed ‘Club Goin’ Up on a Tuesday’ into ‘Tuesday’ (2014), a GRAMMY-nominated platinum hit. He’s released 20+ mixtapes and EPs, and featured on gold singles like ‘I Like Tuh’ (2015) and ‘I’ve Been Waiting’ (2019). After stints with OVO Sound and Warner Records, he dropped his debut album, ‘My Parade’, in 2021.

‘Diamonds’, the collaboration, is set to release on Friday, September 8 on AWAL. Before you head out, also check out the twenty-one-minute documentary.

Diamonds Track List

1 Smokin’
3 Favorite Drug
4 Hypnotized
5 Ballin’
6 Really Loving You
7 November
8 Guiltiness
9 Prove My Love
10 Sidelines
11 I’ve Been Waiting (OG Version)
12 Rent To Pay
13 I Sell Cocaine
14 That Juice
15 Twisted
16 Nasty Names
17 Kiss Me
18 Cry Baby 2
19 Hocus Pocus
20 Cruise With You
21 Diamond Piano Freestyle (Outro)

Written by Richardine Bartee

Her unprejudiced love for people, the arts, and business have taken her this far. Join Richardine on her journey as she writes history into existence, one article at a time. Richardine is a member of the Recording Academy/GRAMMYs, and a GRAMMY U Mentor. She is the North American Press Agent and US Business Manager for Oxlade; Follow her on Instagram and Twitter.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

midwxst releases debut album ‘E3’: Stream

French-Congolese star Tiakola teams up with Dave for ‘Meridian’