in ,

Warner Music Africa earns multiple nominations at the 29th South African Music Awards: See Categories

The annual South African Music Awards are making a comeback this year in the city of Durban, KwaZulu-Natal. The award ceremony is scheduled to be held on November 19, marking 29 years of celebrating the country’s finest music talent.

On October 2nd, the nomination event for the SAMAs being held at Jabulani’s Soweto Theatre had Warner Music Africa and Africori leading the pack with a total of 15 nominations, (Warner Music Africa and Africori) thus establishing dominance in the South African Music space.

With Sjava topping the scoreboard with 5 nominations from his solo album ‘Isibuko’ and platinum-selling Nigerian artist Ckay getting a nod for the prestigious Rest of Africa Award, here’s the full list of nominations from Warner Music Africa and Africori:

Notable Warner Music Africa Nominations:

Best Pop Album:

Tyler Page

Rest of Africa:


Notable Africori Nominations:

Best Amapiano:

Kelvin Momo – “Amukelani”

Male Artist of the Year:

Sjava – “Isibuko”

Album Of The Year:

“Isibuko” – Sjava

Best Engineered Album:

“Isibuko” – Sjava (Engineered & Produced by Ruff)

Best Produced Album:

“Amukelani” – Kelvin Momo

“Isibuko” – Sjava (Produced by Ruff)

Rest Of Africa Award:

Tim Lyre – “Worry”

Best HipHop Album:

MashBeatz – “This is Religion”

Best R&B Album:

Blxckie – “4LUV”

Best Traditional Album:

Makhadzi – “African Queen 2.0”

Best Dance Album:

“The Gospel According to Artwork Sounds” – Artwork Sounds

Best Afropop Album:

Sjava – “Isibuko”

Best Contemporary Faith Album:

Brenden Praise – “Mhalamhala”

Best Dance Album:

DJ Kabila

Congratulations to Warner Music Africa, Africori, and the talented artists on these achievements.

Written by Manny King John

Watch English singer-producer PinkPantheress hang with famous friends in ‘Mosquito’

South Korea-based Japanese girl group XG’s new single ‘Puppet Show’ reimagines power: Watch the visual